What people say about Us

     
 

http://travel.yahoo.com/p-reviews-22161096R-prod-travelguide-action-read-ratings_and_reviews-i;_ylt=AoYga6aK22lnjQYukc3gu0FHbGoL

 

08/09/08

This is great chinese food. Our favorites are the sizzling rice soup and the orange beef. Both are a must have, especially the orange beef. The service is excellent.This place has been our favorite for 15 years, even though it is a 30 minute drive. Their meat dishes are always meaty. You get your money's worth. Can get crowded but always a place to sit. I can't say enough. Very, very reasonable with large portions!!

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

 

08/01/08

The best Hot and Sour Soup I have ever had anywhere. Very good food at reasonable prices. And good portions too. My personal favorite is Diced Chicken and peanuts. Lots of veggies and lots of chicken with some red peppers thrown in for a kick. Very good sweet and sour chicken too. This place is my favorite in South Seattle.

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

 

06/27/08

Best Chinese food in the South King County area. I especially enjoyed the Bird Drop soup.

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

 

05/16/08

My favorite restaurant! The food is excellent and affordable. Don't miss the lunch specials. It is the best deal in town. The mongolian beef and hot and sour soup are the best menu items, but everything is good!

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

 

04/03/08

The ambience is nothing special but the food is great, comes quickly, and the service is very friendly. Be sure to try the Hot and Sour Soup, almost a meal in itself. We've been going since the restaurant opened (about 25 years ago). Excellent value.

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

 

12/28/07

Want some beef in your Mongolian Beef instead of a little beef with all those darn vegetables???? They serve Mongolian Beef with nothing but beef !!!!!! And a LARGE plate at that for less than 8.00 !!! I have never waited more than 10 min. for my food and that was during the dinner hour. I havent even told you about their lunch specials all under 6.00 and I have to tell you that the Hot and Sour soup has chicken, vegetables, tofu and when ordered as a side there is also large shrimp in there too!!

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

Chinese eat here

 

11/22/06

The food is the thing here and it's cheap for what you get. It's very good. Been going here for ten years.

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

The best ever!

 

08/16/05

I too have been going to King Wha since before I can remember. We have fantastic memories over the years of fantastic food and really friendly service. Dine in is great, take out is great, there is no down side. Even worth the drive all the way from Ballard to Burien! :)

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

Great resturant!

 

01/28/05

I have been going here for years. The owner is the nicest man and the food it totally authentic and really good. Always freshly made and everything we have ever tried has been wonderful.

By A Yahoo! Contributor

OVERALL

 

 

 http://www.yelp.com/biz/king-wha-mandarin-chinese-restaurant-burien

 

10/02/08 

I have only had the pleasure of getting into King Wha a couple times but as far as Chinese food in Seattle goes this is it. I don't think you can find a better place and the Mongolian Beef can not be beat.

 Matthew w.           Des Moines, WA

 

11/22/08 

I was super excited when I read the reviews here but i have to say that my meal was mediocre. My Hot and Sour Soup was, well, gelatinous. I've had some amazing hot and sour soup and this was by far not near the halfway decent mark. I had the mongolian beef and I'll admit that was pretty tasty. Now the chow mein, sweet and sour beef and chicken, and bbq pork were not so tasty. oh well. I'll just have to keep trying new places to eat :)

  Ani K. O. WA

 

06/26/08  

My first visit to King Wha was about two years ago when I lived in Kent. I was told it had the best Mongolian Beef. I went with three guys and they all ordered the Mongolian Beef. I, however, not being much of a beef fan when it comes to Chinese food, ordered the General Tso's chicken. When the food came out, I was jealous of the boys, they got big plates full of meat with a few veggies. I got a big plate of delicious (but not the best) General Tso's chicken. I have been there a couple other times since then (once was when I went Vegetarian. The Vegetable Chow Mein is okay, but what was I thinking?!) and never ordered the Mongolian Beef. Until tonight. Hard day cooking at work, came home, worked out and got this craving for not-american-food. "Mmmm, tacos from El Rinconsito" I thought. "No wait, italian food!" Neither sounded great and I knew whatever I was going to get, I wanted to get it to go. And then, I remembered King Wha! I phoned in my order, and in 15 minutes my food was done and ready to go. The boys were right, the Mongolian Beef is amazing. Seriously, if you go there or get take out, order it, you will not be disappointed..I have lived in Burien for over a year, and am only now taking advantage of King Wha. What was I thinking...

S. N.       Port Angeles, WA

  

01/27/09 

I've been going to King Wha for as long as I can remember. Any time I go to a different chinese restaurant, I'm disappointed. The lunch specials are cheap and fantastic. I'm addicted. I love their soups and you cannot beat their Mongolian Beef.

Elise D. Burien, WA

 

12/27/07 

There is one reason I travel to Burien.  This is it....King Wha.  The Mongolian Beef here is the best in the history of Mongolian Beef--outside Mongolia, I'd imagine.  I've ventured away from the Mongolain Beef a couple times, and was pleasantly surprised.  But I naturally always return to my spicey, tasty dish of demonically delicious beef time and time again. The decor is totally unassuming.  Nothing about walking in (especially the back entrance) screams 'great food'.  But that is definitely part of the charm.  The table tea is good, the egg flower soup or sour soup are both excellent.  It's a can't miss from start to finish.  If you duck in here, plan on a weekday lunch.  You can walk out the door having gorged yourself on Mongolian Beef, soup and tea for only $6.00--but it's always nice to leave a tip!!! In all honesty, I'd recommend this spot to anyone...including the Chinese Amassador.  It's worth a trek from wherever you may live just for the Mongolian Beef alone.

Chris H. Seattle, WA

 

12/16/07 

Who knew you could find some fabulous chinese food in the small town of burien. I was craving Chinese (that never happens) and I happened to drive by the place and thought I would give it a try. To be honest...I don't really like chinese food. I am more of a thai girl....but this chinese was kinda crazy...thats how good it was .I am thinking back on all of my chinese food eating experiences...and to be honest...I think this is the best chinese I have ever eaten. I got the Mongolian Chicken It was chocked full of great veggies and had a fabulous sauce. The portions were huge. I also picked up some hot and sour soup (watch out...the smallest one could serve 4). It was all reasonably priced and now I have enough food for like 2 more meals.

Sarah G. Royal Oak, MI

 

04/18/07 

Nestled in the heart of Burien's sad little downtown area there is an unremarkable Chinese restaurant wedged between other restaurants and bars that leaves no real impression on the memory. With no flashy facade, the restaurant is easy to miss and just as easily dismissed for having typical, greasy Chinese food. Do not fall prey to such thoughts, because you will find no glorified Panda Express dishes here. I don't even like Chinese food, but I really like this place, dang it.

King Wha himself, in humble civilian dress, usually does most of the serving when he is not making important executive decisions on his cell phone. Nothing fancy for the interior, but it's clean and has lots of booths and tables and space is not an issue. Standard decorations of dragons and the like. Lot parking is available behind the restaurant where you will sneak through a dirty door to enter the main dining area.

My boyfriend introduced my stomach to their yumminess. One day he was hit with a sudden and violent craving for mongolian chicken and drove aimlessly around south
Seattle with me as a prisoner in his vehicle until he finally managed to locate this place. Was wasting all that gas and driving around worth it? Yes. Their mongolian chicken? Heaven on a plate, people. Not heaven for the breath, though, so don't plan on kissing anyone afterwards.

While the boyfriend loves their spicy seafood soup, I cannot think of a dish we have had here that isn't flavorful or delicious. For a nice surprise, try their hot and sour soup, which when served at your table, will make you go "is this the right soup?!" White with a paste-like consistency, it does not resemble the usual acidic molten lava that you have eaten at other places. It's also more meal than broth as it's thick and full of shrimp and veggies. A truly unusual, but completely welcomed, spin on the classic hot and sour soup.

 Lily N. Seattle, WA
 

07/14/07 

Some of the best Chinese food I've in the Seattle area.  My boyfriend turned me onto this place and I can't help but try to make a trip down there once a month or so for their great food.  It's reasonably priced and since they use such fresh ingredients left overs are awesome for a few days afterward.

01/03/07  

I don't even care that much for Chinese food, but I highly recommend this Burien gem.  There food is inexpensive (especially the lunch specials) and delicious - no other Mongolian Beef will ever live up to the high standards set by King Wha's.

 Cassie W. WA

 

(http://local.yahoo.com/details?id=22161096)

 

December 28, 2007

 Want some beef in your Mongolian Beef instead of a little beef with all those darn vegetables???? They serve Mongolian Beef with nothing but beef !!!!!! And a LARGE plate at that for less than $ 8.00 !!! I have never waited more than 10 min. for my food and that was during the dinner hour. I haven’t even told you about their lunch specials all under 6.00 and I have to tell you that the Hot and Sour soup has chicken, vegetables, tofu and when ordered as a side there is also large shrimp in there too!!

 

November 22, 2006

November 22, 2006 Chinese eat here: The food is the thing here and it's cheap for what you get. It's very good. Been going here

for ten years.

September 16, 2005

 The best ever !: I too have been going to King Wha since before I can remember. We have fantastic memories over the years of fantastic food and really friendly service. Dine in is great, take out is great, there is no down side. Even worth the drive all the way from Ballard to Burien! :)

 January 28, 2005

Great restaurant !: I have been going here for years. The owner is the nicest man and the food is totally authentic and really good. Always freshly made and everything we have ever tried

 

Dine.com Reviews (http://dine.com/restaurants/rid/160830/index.html)

 

 July 24, 2007

Good authentic chinese food at a good price with good service. Not outstanding but can't ask for much more.

 

July 1, 2000

Daily lunch specials at around $5.00. Portions are large (enough to take some home). My personal favorite is the chicken in chili sauce or the Mongolian beef. They have mandarin chicken on Friday, which is very good. Even though they are usually pretty busy, service is quick. Take out or dine in.

 

Insider Pages.com Reviews (http://www.insiderpages.com/b/3723248009)

 

We could not find a good Chinese food restaurant for so long, until finally one night we happened upon King Wha! Oh wow! You have

not had Chinese food until you eat here. Everything tastes good. The service is fantastic. The prices are decent. The servings are more

than ample. The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but looks can sometimes be deceiving! Check them out!

  

King Wha Love's Yelp (http://www.yelp.com/topic/burien-king-wha-love-s-yelp)

 

10/02/08

I have only had the pleasure of getting into King Wha a couple times but as far as Chinese food in Seattle goes this is it. I don't think

you can find a better place and the Mongolian Beef can not be beat.

 Mathew W.

 

06/26/08

My first visit to King Wha was about two years ago when I lived in Kent. I was told it had the best Mongolian Beef. I went with three

guys and they all ordered the Mongolian Beef. I, however, not being much of a beef fan when it comes to Chinese food, ordered the

General Tso's chicken. When the food came out, I was jealous of the boys, they got big plates full of meat with a few veggies. I got a

big plate of delicious (but not the best) General Tso's chicken.

 

I have been there a couple other times since then (once was when I went Vegetarian..the Vegetable Chow Mein is okay, but what was I

thinking?!) and never ordered the Mongolian Beef. Until tonight.

 

Hard day cooking at work, came home, worked out and got this craving for not-american-food. "Mmmm, tacos from El Rinconsito" I

thought. "No wait, italian food!" Neither sounded great and I knew whatever I was going to get, I wanted to get it to go. And then, I

remembered King Wha! I phoned in my order, and in 15 minutes my food was done and ready to go. The boys were right, the Mongolian Beef is amazing. Seriously, if you go there or get take out, order it, you will not be disappointed..

I have lived in Burien for over a year, and am only now taking advantage of King Wha. What was I thinking...

 Satori W.

 

12/17/07

There is one reason I travel to Burien. This is it....King Wha. The Mongolian Beef here is the best in the history of Mongolian Beef--

outside Mongolia, I'd imagine. I've ventured away from the Mongolian Beef a couple times, and was pleasantly surprised. But I

naturally always return to my spicy, tasty dish of demonically delicious beef time and time again. The decor is totally unassuming. Nothing about walking in (especially the back entrance) screams 'great food'. But that is definitely part of the charm. The table tea is good, the egg flower soup or sour soup are both excellent. It's a can't miss from start to finish. If you duck in here, plan on a weekday lunch. You can walk out the door having gorged yourself on Mongolian Beef, soup and tea for only $6.00--but it's always nice to leave a tip!!! In all honesty, I'd recommend this spot to anyone...including the Chinese Ambassador. It's worth a trek from wherever you may live just for the Mongolian Beef alone.

Chris H.

 

 12/16/07

Who knew you could find some fabulous chinese food in the small town of burien. I was craving Chinese (that never happens) and I happened to drive by the place and thought I would give it a try. To be honest...I don't really like chinese food. I am more of a thai girl....but this chinese was kinda crazy...thats how good it was. I am thinking back on all of my chinese food eating experiences...and to be honest...I think this is the best chinese I have ever eaten. I got the Mongolian Chicken It was chocked full of great veggies and had a fabulous sauce. The portions were huge. I also picked up some hot and sour soup (watch out...the smallest one could serve 4).

It was all reasonably priced and now I have enough food for like 2 more meals.

 Sarah G.

 

  08/28/07

So over the weekend I was down at King Wha's in Burien. Guess what they had on their wall? The first 3 reviews from their restaurant

from Yelp! They also had it posted in their window, proudly displaying their good reviews. Turns out a customer (not me) found them

while searching some site and brought them in for them. The waiter/possible owner was so excited to share that his customers loved

the place so much! I just thought it was cool and that I would share that our reviews are appreciated.

Alison R.

 

  04/18/07

Nestled in the heart of Burien's sad little downtown area there lies an unremarkable Chinese restaurant wedged between other

restaurants and bars that leave no real impression on the memory. With no flashy facade, the restaurant is easy to miss and just as

easily dismissed for having typical, greasy Chinese food. Do not fall prey to such thoughts, because you will find no glorified Panda

Express dishes here. I don't even like Chinese food, but I really like this place, dang it. King Wha himself, in humble civilian dress, usually does most of the serving when he is not making important executive decisions on his cell phone. Nothing fancy for the interior, but it's clean and has lots of booths and tables and space is not an issue. Standard decorations of dragons and the like. Lot parking is available behind the restaurant where you will sneak through a dirty door to enter the main dining area.

 

My boyfriend introduced my stomach to their yumminess. One day he was hit with a sudden and violent craving for mongolian chicken

and drove aimlessly around south Seattle with me as a prisoner in his vehicle until he finally managed to locate this place. Was wasting all that gas and driving around worth it? Yes. Their mongolian chicken? Heaven on a plate, people. Not heaven for the breath, though, so don't plan on kissing anyone afterwards.

 

While the boyfriend loves their spicy seafood soup, I cannot think of a dish we have had here that isn't flavorful or delicious. For a nice

surprise, try their hot and sour soup, which when served at your table, will make you go "is this the right soup?!" White with a paste-like

consistency, it does not resemble the usual acidic molten lava that you have eaten at other places. It's also more meal than broth as it's

thick and full of shrimp and veggies. A truly unusual, but completely welcomed, spin on the classic hot and sour soup.

Writing this review makes me hungry.

 Lily N.

 

  04/14/07

Some of the best Chinese food I've in the Seattle area. My boyfriend turned me onto this place and I can't help but try to make a trip

down there once a month or so for their great food. It's reasonably priced and since they use such fresh ingredients left overs are

awesome for a few days afterward.

 Alison R. Seattle, WA

 

01/03/07

I don't even care that much for Chinese food, but I highly recommend this Burien gem. There food is inexpensive (especially the lunch

specials) and delicious - no other Mongolian Beef will ever live up to the high standards set by King Wha's.

 Cassie W. WA 

 

Judysbook.com Reviews (http://www.judysbook.com/cities/seattle/Restaurants/115483/p1/King_Wha_s.htm)

 

• Best Szechuan Chinese in the southend

 Cassie W. WA

 

 08/26/05

This is a favorite of work groups and large families since they have large and medium round tables so that you can share plates with

ease. They're not afraid to use garlic or hot spices in their starred dishes. Their lunch menu contains individual combos of many

peoples favorites -- rice, soup and entrée with tea and fortune cookie. My favorite is their Mandarin style chicken. They handle large

crowds well and deliver food fast. Less fast on their delivery of bar drinks and beer. Usually closed on Mondays.

Sheri F.

 

 

Food206.com Reviews (http://food206.com/chinese/king-wha.html )

 

Reviewed 2004-01-29 (Reviewer)

 This restaurant is very good! Where ever you live, the trip is worth it. I have recommended it to all my friends and

hey all love it!

 

Reviewed 2004-01-29 (Reviewer)

 I think that this restaurant is exceptional. The staff is very friendly, and the service is great! Their dishes are huge and

they have a great variety from China and Korea. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who love chinese or korean

food!

 

Reviewed 2002-10-14 (Reviewer)

I am a westerner who has lived in Taiwan and when I get hungry for good Chinese food I go here. You can order

either Americanized food or authentic Chinese things like steamed fish with the heads still on. There is also a second

section of the menu in Korean where you can order kim chee and other Korean dishes. Good service both for take out

and eat in. The atmosphere is like a neighborhood restaurant in Taiwan. When I bring Taiwan visitors here they also

rate it as good.

 

Buzzerfly.com Reviews 

http://www.buzzerfly.com/metro/industry/bizdetails.php?metro=Seattle&industry=dining&biztype=chinese&bizphone=2062430323

 

I too have been going to King Wha since before I can remember. We have fantastic memories over the years of fantastic food and really friendly service. Dine in is great, take out is great, there is no down side. Even worth the drive all the way from Ballard to Burien! :)

 reviewed by Jenny C

 

I have been going here for years. The owner is the nicest man and the food it totally authentic and really good. Always freshly made and everything we have ever tried has been wonderful.

 reviewed by Jenny C

 

The food is the thing here and it's cheap for what you get. It's very good. Been going here for ten years.

 reviewed by winfhol

 

 

 

T H A N K     Y O U

 

F O R     Y O U R    P A T R O N A G E